Berlin’s very own No Photos on the Dance Floor announce forthcoming compilation album

Following their hugely successful photography and video art exhibition, No Photos on the Dance Floor! announce their forthcoming “Berlin Techno 1992-Today” album featuring over 30 tracks from the likes of Ben Klock, Avalon Emerson, Ellen Allien and FJAAK.

Founded by Heiko Hoffmann, last years hugely successful photography and video art exhibition based in Berlin included works by visual artists such as Wolfgang Tillmans, Romual Karmakar, Sven Marquardt and Camille Blake that dealt with Berlin’s club culture since the fall of the wall. In 2020 it was followed by a book of the same name which collected the most striking imagery from the exhibition alongside interviews and personal essays.

The platform’s forthcoming compilation is the first to trace the history of techno made in Berlin over the past three decades, with a selection of classics and hidden gems that have helped shape Berlin’s sound from the early 90s until now.

Part 1 of the vinyl edition focuses on the period between 1992 and 2006, with early 90s tracks by Thomas Fehlmann and Moritz von Oswald’s 3MB project (who teamed up with Detroit’s Juan Atkins on compilation opener ‘The 4th Quarter’), Berlin techno pioneer DJ Tanith and Mijk van Dijk’s short-lived project 9-10-Boy, von Oswald’s and Ernestus’ influential Maurizio alias, and Alec Empire, who would later go on to start influential noise/industrial band Atari Teenage Riot.

Part 2 is drawn from tracks made between 2007 and today, starting at a point when the city became the center for a new creative community of international artists, DJs and producers who often favoured the minimalist aesthetic & musical styles of clubs such as Berghain, Bar25 and Watergate and stayed for the ease of living. 

In addition to the two-part vinyl release, ‘No Photos on the Dance Floor!’ will also be available in expanded CD & digital formats, featuring additional tracks by Rødhad, Efdemin and Ricardo Villalobos. Part 1 is out 4th June on vinyl and Part 2 is out 25th June on vinyl and CD/digital.

Part 1: 1992–2006
A1. 3MB feat Juan Atkins – The 4th Quarter
A2. 9-10-Boy – Robocop
A3. Alec Empire – SuEcide
B1. Futurhythm – Phuture
B2. Vainqueur – Lyot (Maurizio Mix)
C1. MMM – Donna
C2. Kotai + Mo – Black Acid (Pt. 1)
D1. Sleeparchive – Elephant Island
D2. Monolake – Alaska (Substance Remix II)

Part 2: 2007–Today
A1. Heartthrob – Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix)
A2. Ellen Allien – Go (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
B1. Klockworks – Sean
B2. Wax – Untitled (Wax No 30003 B)
C1. Ancient Methods – Else
C2. Dasha Rush – Outer Space
C3. Avalon Emerson – The Frontier
D1. Barker – Cascade Effect
D2. Modeselektor – Kalif Storch
D3. FJAAK – Breathe

More Stories
Planet X unleash their 99-track compilation for social justice in Colombia