Joy Orbison announces ‘still slipping vol. 1’ mixtape via XL Recordings

Joy Orbison announces his first ever long form project via XL Recordings and unveils exclusive merchandise collaboration with Japanese brand Cav Empt.

The fourteen-track mixtape titled still slipping vol. 1 is the latest creative milestone from an artist who has been shaping and redefining the electronic music landscape since his teens. Orbison’s highly anticipated mixtape is an evolution from 2019’s acclaimed Slipping EP and the name of a Joy Orbison curated radio station (“Still Slipping: Los Santos”) within Grand Theft Auto’s immersive world, still slipping vol.1 is without doubt Orbison’s boldest and most expansive project yet. Voices of Orbison’s faily appear throughout the record via a series of voice notes, his only contact with his family during this year of worldwide lockdown and an intimate, vicarious glimpse into the personal world of an artist who has generally side-stepped the public gaze.

Speaking on the record, Joy Orbison states: “I’ve been working on the idea of a mixtape for a while now. i’d never really wanted to make an album, but the way I’ve been making and listening to music has changed a lot over the last few years and it doesn’t always make sense on a single or EP. i also had this realisation that I wish my records were better suited to soundtracking people’s bus journeys but so far I’ve only really given you enough music to get half way up walworth road.”

I’ve made a point of making this record feel really human, light hearted and humorous in places too so that the weirder bits of the record don’t seem too wanky or self-indulgent. there’s so much electronic music that I love but I never really connected to the space age, distant land of whoever your graphic designer is presentation of it all – so hopefully this feels a bit more personal. there’s a load of voice notes from family members in there too, pretty much my only contact with them over lockdown.

To celebrate with the release of still slipping vol.1, Joy Orbison has also announced an exclusive collaboration with legendary Tokyo based clothing label Cav Empt. The long-time friends and collaborators (Joy Orbison has previously performed at Cav Empt parties in London and Tokyo and contributed to their renowned tape series) have come together to produce a range of “still slipping” merchandise including t-shirts and socks. This is Cav Empt’s first ever collaboration with an artist and is sure to be highly sought after.

“still slipping vol.1” will be available on LP, CD, limited Japanese CD (featuring exclusive bonus track), cassette and on all digital services here.

1. w/ dad & frankie
2. sparko (w/ herron)
3. swag w/ kav (w/ james messiah & bathe)
4. better (w/ léa sen)
5. bernard?
6. runnersz
7. ‘rraine (w/ edna)
8. glorious amateurs
9. s gets jaded
10. froth sipping
11. layer 6
12. in drink
13. playground (w/ goya gumbani)
14. born slipping (w/ tyson)

More Stories
West London’s P-rallel unleashes debut mixtape ‘Movement’