Tresor Records announce updated version of Regis and Female’s album Againstnature

Continuing the series of reissues from the Tresor catalogue, Tresor Records announces an updated version of the classic Regis and Female full-length, Againstnature.

Originally released in the year 2000, the album represents a pivotal moment in the emergence of the “Birmingham Sound”; a stripped-back sub-genre of Techno, pioneered around this time in the English hub by artists such as Regis, Female, and Surgeon.

Influenced more by Industrial, Music Concrete, and EBM than from the melodic sounds of its Detroit predecessor, Regis later described the music as being made with a fractured pop sensibility which created a sound that may be faceless but by design loses none of the soul of its American counterpart.

This remastered edition of Againstnature also features the additional track, Theme From Streetwalker, previously only available on Volume 6 of the Tresor Compilation series. Collected together the album is a key work in the progression of this sub-genre to the dominant form of Techno heard in clubs in Berlin and around the world today.

‘Againstnature’ will be out on Tresor Records October 15th.

A1 / 1. Washing My Hands

A2 / 2. Let Them Bleed
A3 / 3. Paralyzing
B1 / 4. Nothing And No One
B2 / 5. Meat
C1 / 6. Join Us In Paradise
C2 / 7. Hanoi Hanoi
D1 / 8. Guiltless
D2 / 9. Theme From Streetwalker
D3 / 10. Under Skin

More Stories
Rapid-rising rapper Archy Moor releases new single ‘I’ve Been’ ahead of his highly anticipated EP