Joy Orbison drops his full-length project ‘still slipping vol. 1’

On Friday, Joy Orbison released his first ever long form project via XL Recordings.

The fourteen-track mixtape titled still slipping vol. 1 is the latest creative milestone from an artist who has been shaping and redefining the electronic music landscape since his teens.

Fans of Joy Orbison’s DJ sets and radio shows will already be aware of his diverse tastes and inspirations, represented here through a roll call of delicately curated collaborators that include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani and Tyson. Just as important are the voices Joy Orbison’s family – mum, dad, sister Sarah, uncle Frankie, uncle Keith (recently departed), auntie Helen and cousins Lola, Mia and Leighann, who was the first person to introduce O’Grady to drum and bass and garage as a kid and stars on the mixtape’s cover art.

Speaking on the record, Joy Orbison states: “I’ve been working on the idea of a mixtape for a while now. i’d never really wanted to make an album, but the way I’ve been making and listening to music has changed a lot over the last few years and it doesn’t always make sense on a single or EP. i also had this realisation that I wish my records were better suited to soundtracking people’s bus journeys but so far I’ve only really given you enough music to get half way up walworth road.”

Joy Orbison has also announced an exclusive collaboration with legendary Tokyo based clothing label Cav Empt. The long-time friends and collaborators (Joy Orbison has previously performed at Cav Empt parties in London and Tokyo and contributed to their renowned tape series) have come together to produce a range of “still slipping” merchandise including t-shirts and socks.

‘still slippin vol. 1’ is available to purchase via Bandcamp.

1. w/ dad & frankie
2. sparko (w/ herron)
3. swag w/ kav (w/ james massiah & bathe)
4. better (w/ léa sen)
5. bernard?
6. runnersz
7. ‘rraine (w/ edna)
8. glorious amateurs
9. s gets jaded
10. froth sipping
11. layer 6
12. in drink
13. playground (w/ goya gumbani)
14. born slipping (w/ tyson)

More Stories
Stalactite Cave is German duo Glaskin’s latest single