Shackleton announces first solo album in nine years

Out in two weeks, Shackleton releases his third solo album on his very own Woe To The Sceptic Heart imprint following his latest Tunes Of Negation collaboration.

Speaking on his forthcoming release, Shackleton states: “Unlike much of my work recently, it is not a ‘concept album’ and is without any collaborators. I just wanted to focus on my core sound really but without any of the genre tropes that may have been present the last time I made a solo album.

“It is intended as a psychedelic album as much as anything. You can listen to it in a more meditative way without getting distracted by the details. I suppose that is why the frequency spectrum is more similar to my earlier work, but there is a lot going on under the surface and it can be quite demanding if you are paying attention as there are odd time signatures and dissonant elements in there too.

I am putting it out on my own label, Woe To The Septic Heart! I just felt it was time for that. It is a bad time for pressing records but conversely, Bandcamp has proved to be useful in showing you do not need to have the backing of an established label. I think I can do something independently and hope that it will still reach the public.”

Departing Like Rivers is meditative, foggy, scuzzy, made of multiple psychedelic layers and ghosts of Brit folk songs.

‘Departing Like Rivers’ will be out on September 21st via Woe To The Septic Heart and is available to pre-order on Bandcamp.

1. Something Tells Me / Pour Out Like Water
2. The Turbulent Sea
3. Shimmer, then Fade
4. One of us Escaped
5. The Light that was Hidden
6. Few Are Chosen
7. Transformed Into Love

More Stories
Cerrot announces debut album on esteemed label Trip