Wigbert – Distorted Matter [Second State]

Second State returns for a debut LP from highly sought after German producer Wigbert. Over the past decade, he has been forging an unbreakable reputation as an inventive and versatile producer, possessing skills that have seen him submit remixes for the likes of Gregor Tresher and Pan-Pot themselves, while gaining plenty of support from Dubfire, who has released a handful of Wigbert’s EP’s on his own SCI + TEC label.

For his first full-length, Wigbert demonstrates why he is one of the most exciting producers around. Distorted Matter showcases his affinity for both atmospheric mood pieces and pummeling club cuts – demonstrated with the opening ominous tones of ‘Uncertainty’, followed by hard-hitting ‘Reflection’ which provides a series of pumping kick drums and layers of creepy arps and samples. The rest of the album continues in a similar vein with the broken beats of “Digital Mirroring”, the lightly charged notes of “Drone Level” and the synth laden “Focus” – summing up a rather sublime LP.

Distorted Matter is one of Second State’s most sophisticated releases this year and is a must listen from start to finish. Listen and purchase on Bandcamp.

1. Uncertainty
2. Reflection
3. Night Vision
4. Error 404

5. Xcelerator
6. Distorted Matter
7. Detuned
8. Automatic Loop
9. Digital Mirroring
10. Drone Level
11. Focus

[Released: 19.02.21 on Second State]

More Stories
Joy Orbison shares new single ‘2M3 2U’ on XL Recordings