Ever since his first release as Audio Injection in 2007, David Flores, aka Truncate, has been a key driving force behind the Los Angeles’ techno movement. As a teenager, Flores listened to a variety of electronic music on the radio back in the 90s, and then began to mix soundtracks by the age of eighteen. Clearly possessing a talent for mixing, the emerging artist was invited to DJ across Southern California on the DIY Warehouse, desert and rave circuit, ultimately leading to his first moniker as Audio Injection. His early style was varied and portrayed a myriad of sounds ranging from house to acid, to techno and to hardcore. It was in 2008 when David decided to focus on music full-time and the rest is history. 

After a few years of honing his mixing skills, Flores released a series of original tracks which landed on several established labels such as Monoid, Stimulus, 4-Track & LA label, Droid Recordings. His early inspirations are clearly visible in both Audio Injection and Truncate productions, as Flores merges the raw energy of the 90s rave scene with smart sound design and deep musical knowledge to create nothing short of future proof weapons that have been unleashed around the world. It was in early 2011 that Flores unleashed his Truncate project, an opportunity to focus on the deeper and rawer side of techno. This was due to an experimentation involving productions of stripped down DJ tools which were passed around until they started taking off, thus the Truncate name change from resultant gig requests. Such releases have since gained critical acclaim from international underground talents such as Modeselektor, Ben Klock, Marcel Dettmann, Luke Slater, DVS1 and many, many more.

Flores has since catalogued various releases on established record labels such as TRUNCEI8HT EP on EI8HT, Level Up on Pets Recordings and Figure Jams 006 on Figure. However, most of Flores’ records are self-released on TRUNCATE, until recently he has set up a brand new sub-label called WRKTRX. Kicking things off in September, Truncate made the first release with his three-track thriller called Work This Track and only yesterday (27th October) has the label made its second release by Gene Richards Jr under the name of Shake Sequence. This label, along with all of Flores’ work old and new is hugely respected around the world. Always working on remixes, productions or his heavy tour schedule, Flores is constantly giving to the electronic music dance scene and there will be no stopping. Be sure to check out his DJs & Beers livestream show every Thursday on his Facebook, where Flores chats to a whole host of DJs about music and everyday life.

1. Gemini – In My Head EP

A1. In My Head
A2. The Next Step
B1. At That Cafe

[Released: 01.09.98 on Classic]

2. Moire – Lisbon

A1. Teebs – Why Like This
A2. Jeremiah Je – $easons
B1. Laplux – Without You
B2. Iglooghost – Bug Thief

[Released: 16.11.18 on Brainfeeder]

3. Les Femmes – Yes, You Thrill Me

A. Yes, You Thrill Me
B. Yes, You Thrill Me (Dub Mix)
[Released: 16.03.84 on Kee Wee Records]

4. Kyle HALL – The Shark EP [A2. Vexed]

A1. Shark
A2. Vexed
B1. Distant
B2. Slam Deep

+ more…
[Released: 04.06.20 on Forget The Clock]

5. Kecklip – Ordered Bell

A1. Stay The Course
A2. The Occulter
B1. Ordered Bell
B2. Cix

[Released 01.07.20 on Unionmaide Records]

Recent Movements


Work This Track:

Thanks to Truncate.

More Stories
Aboutface announces brand album forthcoming on AD 93